2014-2015 Chapter SPY

Michele-Cornelius-SiskCongratulations to the South Carolina Chapter 2014-15 SPY Award Winner – Michele Cornelius Sisk

Patricia-RavenCongratulations to Patricia Raven – Chesapeake Chapter’s Safety Professional of the Year 2014-15! Pat has dedicated many years of outstanding services to the EHS field. Besides her day time job where she trained many staff in EHS topics she dedicated many hours to the Chesapeake Chapter. She held the positions of Membership and Secretary for many terms. During those years she was one to always step up ensuring the Chapter provided quality programs and services to its members. Pat took a major role to ensure the Chapters one day Professional Development Program was relevant helping it grow from 20- 30 attendees to now 150 plus per year. She helped with the planning of many monthly meeting and with the Chapter support of two National Conferences. Pat was a fantastic team member that supported some many of the Chapters Executive Committee Members and brought new ideas which help the Chapter prosper.

Holly-JohnsonTriad Chapter – Holly Johnson is an Environmental Compliance Specialist for the City of Greensboro’s Field Operations Department. Her duties include health and safety for the White Street Landfill and the Solid Waste Transfer Station and disposal of hazardous waste generated by the City. She graduated from the University of North Carolina at Asheville in 2002 with a Bachelor of Science in Environmental Studies. After graduation she worked for a Hazardous Waste Treatment, Storage, and Disposal facility as a chemist and compliance specialist. She has been employed by the City of Greensboro for almost eight years.

KevinEarpKevin Earp – Tarheel Chapter SPY 2013-14, Tarheel President 2011-12, NAOSH Champion Award 2010, Tarheel Delegate (Twice). Developed and implemented 1st and subsequent Tarheel PDC’s, Formed partnership between Chapter and Charlotte Fire & Life Safety Bowl promoting both the ASSE Safety-on-the-Job poster contest and leading the Chapter to participate as a sponsor of the Bowl. Sponsored two-(2) Safety-on-the-Job Poster Contest National winners over consecutive years and led Chapter in cover the expenses for the students/family to attend NAOSH activities. Served as Liaison at Region VI PDC, Region VI Nominations & Elections Committee for Region VP – 2013. Serves as Chapter Professional Development Chair.

ArleneEdwardsAlicia Mitchell awards Arlene Edwards the Chapter Safety Professional of the Year award. In a moving introduction crediting Arlene as the person responsible for her own career as a safety professional, incoming President Mitchell honored Arlene for her hard work and commitment to the Chapter. Two-time Chapter President Steve Crooks commented that awards chair, Tom Werner “had an easy job this year in selecting Arlene.” “Anyone who knows Arlene sees that our Chapter has been very lucky to have such a committed, well organized and talented leader.”

TomCecichTom Cecich was honored as a Fellow at the 2014 ASSE PDC in Orlando.

Bruce-DonatoBruce Donato is the 2014 NOVA Chapter SPY recipient. It will be presented to him at our Awards & Honors Social on June 19th.