ASSP Recognizes Five Next-Generation Safety Leaders

Region VI is proud to recognize Ogaga Tebehaevu of the North Carolina Chapter for his selfless servant leadership in being recognized in the inaugural ASSP Emerging Professionals Award.

The American Society of Safety Professionals (ASSP) has selected its first group of recipients for a new award and professional development program that aims to advance occupational safety and health careers while supporting the entire profession. ASSP’s 2020 Emerging Professional Award was earned by five next-generation safety leaders who demonstrate leadership, volunteerism and a desire to widely impact workplace safety through their involvement in the world’s oldest professional safety organization.

In less than five years Ogaga has earned both the CSP and CIH designations.  These two accomplishments demonstrate Ogaga’s well-rounded background, education, and the desire to demonstrate professional credibility.  These add significant value to his ASSP service roles especially in inspiring students to achieve certification and engage in volunteerism.  Ogaga is consistently giving back to his alma mater and its students.  He serves on the ECU MS, Occupational Safety Program’s External Advisory Board.  He has delivered guest lectures in Industrial Hygiene, System Safety, and the undergraduate course in occupational safety, as well as mentoring graduate students on course and practicum related projects.  Ogaga’s most influential professional service contribution is to ASSP Region VI where he serves as Assistant Regional Vice President for Student Affairs.  In this role Ogaga has completely upgraded the student poster session and student experience at the Region VI PDC.  He challenges students to be both research-oriented and practice driven when developing their research topics.  Ogaga developed a student networking event during the conference that allows professionals and students to engage in professional engagement and mentorship.

Read the official Press Release here: