Region VI Safety Professional of the Year

The ASSP Regional SPY award is an honor acknowledging the dedication and outstanding contributions of a member to a specific Region.  Criteria in which a candidate is judged include:

  1. Demonstrated technical expertise in the broad field of safety and a thorough knowledge of the operational aspects of his/her nominee’s safety employment.
  2. Demonstrated outstanding contributions to the Society, Council, Region, or Membership Community activities, including committee or task force chair, officer, services to members, lecturer at seminars, etc.
  3. Professional contributions to advance the Safety Profession, such as fostering professional development, public/community services, instructor at educational institutions, involvement in codes and legislation, articles written, work with allied groups, etc.
  4. Awards and innovations, including citations, honors, plaques; or new procedures or systems developed.
  5. Leadership in establishment, maintenance, and improvement of technical or Society programs in the organization nominee serves or elsewhere.
  6. Other personal achievements related to safety and health.
  7. Endorsements by superiors and verification by associates, in the form of letters on appropriate stationery of the employer, Membership Community, or Council.

You can download the package for the Regional SPY Application process by clicking here.

You can download the package for the Chapter SPY Application process by clicking here.

The Deadline to submit a completed package to be considered for Regional SPY recognition is February 1st of each year.

Packages should be emailed to Member & Chapter Affairs Committee:

Awards can be ordered by logging into ASSP member account  > Community Leader Resources > Chapter > Chapter Management > Chapter Forms > Order SPY Statute

  • 2024
    Paul Esposito, CIH, CSP

  • 2023
    Frank Cruice, MS, CSP, CHCM, CRSP

  • 2022
    Wyatt Bradbury, MEng, CSP, CHST, CIT, TSSP

  • 2021
    Jack Sullivan, CSP, CFPS

  • 2020
    Matthew Wilcox, CSP

  • 2019
    Christopher S. Hinson, MA, CIH, CSP, CHMM

  • 2018
    Daniel Ashworth, PhD, CSP, CFEI, CFPS

  • 2017
    Jorge Otalora, CHST

  • 2016
    Arlene Edwards, CSP

  • 2015
    Julian Mercer, MS, CSP, CRSP, ASP, CSHM
  • 2014
    Elizabeth Barnette, ASP, SMS

  • 2013
    David Wenzel, CSP, OHST

  • 2012
    Adele Abrams, JD, CMSP

  • 2011
    Frank Cruice, MS, CSP, CHCM, CRSP

  • 2010
    Ashok Garlapati, CSP, CFIOSH, QEP

  • 2009
    Ujwal Ritwik, CRSP, QEP

  • 2008
    Michael A. McCullion, CSP, ARM

  • 2008
    Eva C. Mann, CSP

  • 2007
    Herbert C. Maher

  • 2006
    Emory E. Knowles, CSP, CIH

  • 2005
    David G. Mazary, CSP, CHMM, CRMP

  • 2004
    Wilma L. Magyar

  • 2004
    Maryellen P. Harper, MS, CSP, ARM

  • 2003
    Diana Stegall, CSP, CFPS, ARM, CPCU

  • 2001
    John W. Mewborn, CSHM

  • 2000
    G. Dwight Blankenbaker

  • 1999
    Everett Lallis Jr.