Region VI Safety Matters Campaign 2015-16

Posted: Jan 22, 2016

In honor of the ASSP Foundation’s 25th Anniversary Region VI has set a goal to raise $20,000 for Safety Matters Fund between July 1, 2015 and July 1, 2016

Current Fund Raising activities include:

• “I Love Safety” T-Shirt Sales (Chapter Level)
• Individual $25 donation during membership renewal
• Business Sponsorships
• Open to fundraising ideas

If you are interested in donating and/or participating in one or more of these campaign initiatives, please contact Michael Wolf at

More Details on the challenge here:

OSHT Program Awarded Community College of Baltimore County Program of the Year

Posted: Jan 22, 2016

Every five years, each program at the Community College of Baltimore County (CCBC) must undergo an extensive internal review process. Each year, the CCBC Program Review Board awards Program of the Year to the program that meets six essential criteria, including a thorough and valuable program review. For 2014-2015, the Occupational Safety and Health Technology program was selected as Program of the Year.

The 2014-2015 OSHT Program Review Committee included many CCBC OSHT alumni, and many Chesapeake ASSE members.

The CCBC Program Review Board recommended that the OSHT program continue with ‘no mandatory changes to the existing program,’ the most positive possible outcome. At the CCBC Board of Trustees meeting on June 17, 2015, the recommendation was approved. This photo from the meeting shows CCBC President Dr. Sandra Kurtinitis presenting the Program of the Year award to OSHT Program Coordinator Wendy Whitcomb, joined by School of Applied and Information Technology Interim Assistant Dean Doug Kendzierski and Interim Dean Jack McLaughlin.

Delmarva ASSE Chapter and Millersville University (MU) ASSE Student Section Partner on Confine Space Entry & Rescue Training

Posted: Jan 22, 2016

It all started last summer at the ASSE PDC in Orlando.  Perdue Farms of Salisbury, MD who has many active members of the Delmarva Chapter was looking to begin a Safety Management Trainee process.  After visiting the Millersville University booth at the PDC and speaking with some of the students, Perdue quickly came to realize that the MU Occupational Safety &Environmental Health Program would be a great partner.

After a few calls and a face to face meeting with Dr. Jack Ogutu & Dr. Mehdi Khalighi both Assistant Professor’s of Applied Engineering Safety & Technology was scheduled.  Frank Cruice a member of the Delmarva chapter travels to MU and meet with Dr Jack and Mehdi along with Trish McEvoy, the MU ASSE Student Section President.  Based on those calls and meeting it was agreed there were significant interest in providing/conducting specialized training for the student section.

Read More